About Lithuania


Country name: Republic of Lithuania - Lietuvos Respublika.
Capital: Vilnius
National Emblems: since 1991, the national emblem - the white Vytis on a red background.
National Flag: The national flag is a tricolor of three equal horizontal stripes: the top - yellow, in the middle - green and red below.
National anthem: "Tautiška Giesmė" (The National Hymn). Music and words were written by Vincas Kudirka, when Lithuania was still part of Russian Empire.
Climate: Lithuania's climate, which ranges between maritime and continental, is relatively mild. Average temperatures are -6 °C in January and +17 °C in July.
Local Time: Lithuania lies in the Eastern Time Zone: GMT +2 h (example: Helsinki, Riga, Tallinn).
Neighboring countries: Latvia, Belarus, Poland, Russia (Kaliningrad region).
Land Area: 65,000 sq km. Lithuania is the largest of all the Baltic countries.
Capital: Vilnius (population: about 541,300).
Population: 3.43 million (on 01 01 2005), of which 83.5% Lithuanians, Poles 6.7%, Russians 6.3% Belarusians 1.2%, other 2.3%. In Lithuania, live 115 different ethnic groups.
Official language: Lithuanian.
Religions: majority of the population is Roman Catholic (about 80%), other religions - Russian Orthodox, ev.Lutheraner, Protestant Reformed, Old Believers, Jews, Sunni Moslem, including Karaites.
National Holidays: 16th of February: Declaration of Independence (1918), 6th of July: National Foundation (1253, King Mindaugas Coronation of Prince), 11 03 1990 regaining independence.
Heads of State / Government: Parliamentary democracy.
Head of state: President Dalia Grybauskaite.
Membership in international organizations: UN: 17 09 1991; OSCE: 09 1991; Europe: 11 05 1993; WEU: 11 04 1994 as an associate partner; NATO: 29 03 2004; EU: 01 05 2004.
Exchange rate: 1 EUR = 3.4528 LTL, LTL 1 = 0.2896 euros.